Library Foundation Board of Directors

President: Kathleen Schloeder
Kathleen Schloeder holds a B. S. in Foreign Service from the School of Foreign Service at Georgetown University and an M.A. in Modern European History from George Mason University. She is a retired Foreign Service Officer, and was the official U. S. member of the United Kingdom-United States American Studies Library Commission while stationed at the American Embassy in London. Schloeder also was a supervisor of the U.S. Embassy library at the Casa Thomas Jefferson in Brasilia, Brazil, and the Amerika Haus library in Hannover, Germany. Schloeder volunteered at the Burke Branch for several years in their after-school tutoring program and currently tutors at George Mason elementary school. She is the Endowment Chair of the American Hemerocallis Society.

Vice President: Oscar Fitzgerald
Dr. Fitzgerald earned his Bachelor of Arts (Cum Laude) from Vanderbilt University and Masters and Doctorate in History from Georgetown University. He retired from the Naval Historical Center, where he served first as head of the contemporary history program and then as Director of the Navy Museum, to pursued full time his first love which is the history of furniture and the decorative arts. Currently, he teaches at Marymount University and in the Smithsonian Institution / Corcoran School Masters Program in the History of the Decorative Arts. After completing a James Renwick Research Fellowship in 2004, he published the catalogue of the extensive contemporary studio furniture collection in the Smithsonian Renwick Gallery in 2008. His latest book, New Masters of the Wooden Box, was published in 2009 to accompany an exhibit that is traveling the country for three years.


Helen R. Desfosses, Treasurer
Helen R. Desfosses has been very active on the nominating committee and in testifying before the City Council regarding the needs and contributions of the public library system. Dr. Desfosses has been a Board Member of At Home in Alexandria, a non-profit organization which helps individuals over 55 to remain independently in their homes, and serves as Co-Chair of its Governance Committee. She also functions as a frequent instructor in public policy at the Osher Institute of Lifelong Learning at George Mason University. Before moving to Alexandria in 2008, she was a trustee and vice-chair of the Board of the Albany Public Library in Albany, NY, where she was also elected city-wide to two terms as City Council President. She holds an M.A. in Soviet Area Studies from Harvard University, and a Ph.D. in Political Science from Boston University. She was a tenured professor at the State University of New York at Albany in Public Administration and Policy/Africana Studies for many years, where she also served as Dean of Undergraduate Studies and faculty-in-residence for the New York State Assembly Internship Program. Dr. Desfosses became Treasurer of the Alexandria Library Board in April 2016.


Secretary: Rose T. Dawson
Ms. Dawson, the Director of the Alexandria Library since 2008, served as Deputy Director for two years before becoming Director of Libraries. Dawson earned both her Bachelor of Arts in Education and Master of Library Science from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Additionally, she completed the program at George Washington University's Center for Excellence in Municipal Management to become a Certified Public Manager. She is an active member of the American Library Association, Public Library Association, Library Administration and Management Association, Association of Library Services to Children, and the Black Caucus of the American Library Association.