Guide to Special Collections


Local History   ||   Genealogy   ||   Civil War   ||   Photographs  
Microfilm  ||   Manuscript Collections   ||   Rare Books
Maps   ||   Periodicals


LOCAL HISTORY
Alexandria and Northern Virginia resources include:

GENEALOGY
The collection is strongest for Virginia families, but more general resources are available as well. Materials include:

An in-depth guide to the collection's genealogy resources is also available.

CIVIL WAR
History of all aspects of the conflict, with a focus on the Confederacy. Resources include:

PHOTOGRAPHS
The library has several collections of photographs that depict life in and around Alexandria from the time of the Civil War to the present. Photocopies of the images are arranged by subject, and digital and photographic reproductions of prints are available for a fee (click here for more information). The collections cover Alexandria people, events, houses and other well-known places.

MICROFILM
In addition to the census records and the Alexandria Gazette, the collection contains:

A subject index of the microfilm collection is available both at the library and online.

MANUSCRIPT COLLECTIONS
The library holds the personal and business papers of many Alexandria individuals and institutions, including the records of some local private schools, businesses, and people. There is a subject index to the collections in-house as well as online, and detailed finding aids exist for many collections as well.

RARE BOOKS
The core of the rare book collection is the original collection of the Alexandria Library Company, which was begun in the 1790s. This collection is representative of the types of books that could be found in a subscription library from that time period.

MAPS
Most of the maps in the collection cover Virginia, with emphasis on the Alexandria region. Most maps are available for perusal in their original print form, while others, like the detailed Sanborn Fire Insurance maps, can be found on microfilm as well. The map collection is indexed by subject, and the index is available online and in the library.

PERIODICALS
Special Collections subscribes to many journals that discuss history, genealogy and historic preservation. Here are the periodicals and newspapers in microfilm presently in the collection. Periodicals dealing with aspects of local history have been indexed by subject; the index is available online and in the library.