Skip to:Bottom
|
Content

September Staff Picks

Staff-recommended reading from the Alexandria Library Catalog. Check back each month for a new list. Also check out our new Goodreads Group for reviews, online bookclubs, and more!  


What do I read next? 

Tell us five titles you have enjoyed and we'll send you a list of five more that we think you will like.

 

The quick : a novel

 

 

The quick: a novel

By Lauren Owen

Ready for a Victorian thriller which combines magic, suspense and terror? Get ready to quickly lose yourself in this seductive book about vampires set in Victorian London of 1892. This dazzling novel includes a shy poet, vampire hunters, a vampire researcher, and ample amounts of action and romance. Also available as eBook on OverDrive and audiobook (CD).

Recommended by Carol P.

The bees

 

 

The bees

By Laline Paull

Told from the perspective of a worker bee, The Bees is the story of one colony where Flora 717 battles her desire to serve and sacrifice with a longing to be more than the station she was born into. A beautiful and moving book that will make you think of the differences in each one of us and look at the lives of bees very differently. Also available as an audiobook (CD).

Recommended by Samantha P.

The girl with all the gifts

 

 

The girl with all the gifts

By M.R. Carey

Melanie loves school. Locked in a cell, her only escape is when she is wheeled into the classroom. Melanie is a very special girl. This isn't your typical zombie story. Even if you are a zombie purist, give it a chance and it will surprise you. The characters are great and you will be sucked into their journey.

Recommended by Katie D.


Shenzhen : a travelogue from China

 

 

Shenzhen : a travelogue from China 

By Guy Delisle

Guy Delisle spent three months in Shenzhen managing production for a French animation company. This graphic format memoir follows his exploration of life in urban China, illustrating how to get along despite cultural, communication, and political barriers.

Recommended by Julie D.

The gift of fear : survival signals that protect us from violence

 

 

The gift of fear: survival signals that protect us from violence

By Gavin de Becker

A fascinating read on learning how to trust your intuitions and keep yourself safe in dangerous situations. With stories from his own career and life, de Becker illustrates how to determine if someone poses a danger to us. An important book about human behavior. 

Recommended by April D.

Save the date

 

 

 

 

Save the date : a novel

By Mary Kay Andrews

Cara Kryzik is a Savannah florist who has her hands full juggling demanding brides and their mothers, a father who is calling in his loan, and a competing floral designer who wants her out of business. Then her beloved Goldendoodle is ‘dog-napped’ by the handsome Jack Finnerty and life really starts to spiral out of control. Mary Kay Andrews’ latest is a delightful romp through the wedding planning business, punctuated by plenty of quirky Southern characters and tied up in a neat bow. A great choice if you are looking for a light, funny read as those beach days pass us by. Also available as an audiobook (CD).

Recommended by Jessica S.


The tale of the dueling neurosurgeons

 

 

The tale of the dueling neurosurgeons : the history of the human brain as revealed by true stories of trauma, madness, and recovery

By Sam Kean

I love Sam Kean's books because he is a very accessible and entertaining science writer, and this book is no exception. The Tale of the Dueling Neurosurgeons describes the structure and functions of the brain through stories of the tragedies and accidents that helped pioneering doctors learn about this mysterious organ. Great for fans of Mary Roach and Bill Bryson's A Short History of Nearly Everything. Also available as an audiobook (CD).

Recommended by Rebecca L.

Go to:Top of Page